How to unlock your Snapchat account

DEPENDING on how the app is utilized, sometimes a Snapchat account can be locked from use.

Here's what we know about getting your account unlocked.

Why do Snapchat accounts get locked?

There are multiple reasons your Snapchat account may get locked by the support team, including:

  • Using a third-party app, plugin, or tweak to access Snapchat or Snapchat services
    • Avoid installing apps not associated with Snapchat to access your account
    • A temporarily locked account can be unlocked, but the third-party apps or plugins must be deleted from your phone first
    • "We prohibit spam and other deceptive practices, including manipulating content for misleading purposes or to imitate Snapchat content formats," the Snapchat support team said via their website
    • Verify email and phone number before using the app

    According to the Snapchat support website, accounts can either be permanently or temporarily locked.

    A permanently locked account cannot be unlocked.

    SNAPCHAT LATEST

    SNAPPEDCHAT

    Why Snapchat is not working for users across the world

    BOY BYE

    I matched with a creep months ago – he knows what I like after analysing my room

    WARNING SIGNS

    The 6 creepy clues you have a Facebook, WhatsApp or Snapchat STALKER

    SNAP IT UP

    Huge Snapchat update could make you ditch WhatsApp TODAY

    How do you unlock a Snapchat account?

    For those we try to access the Snapchat app but receive a message saying their account has been temporarily locked, there is a link on the Snapchat support website to select the Unlock option.

    However, if your account has violated Community Guidelines or other rules and you don't fix them before logging back in, your account may be permanently locked.

    There is no way to reverse a permanently locked Snapchat account, and the support team will not have the ability to assist you if that's the case.

    The website states: "Snapchatters who have had their account terminated are also prohibited from creating new accounts."

    Snapchat adds that the app is meant to be "fun and safe for everyone," so they recommend reading the Community Guidelines before attempting to reinstate a locked account.

    What is Snapchat?

    Snapchat was released in September 2011.

    It's an interactive app that lets users send and receive photos and messages, while also having the ability to share and reply to Snapchat stories.

    Snapchat stories are a place to share content that's available for 24 hours before it's deleted, including photos and videos.

    When Snapchat originated, the focus was on person-to-person communication via private messaging in the app.

    While this is still a main part of the system, there are now more features, such as Discover and "My Eyes Only".

    With Discover, brands and companies can share content to the masses, including news-like stories and videos.

    The "My Eyes Only" feature allows users to save photos and videos to a password-protected area, only accessible by the user.

    One of the main features of Snapchat that earned its popularity is the short amount of time a photo or video is available for viewing.

    Users can choose how many seconds they want their image to appear before sending them.

    When something is screenshotted by the receiving user, a notification is sent to the sender to let them know.

      Source: Read Full Article